Concerts- past and future

There is a chamber concert coming up! In only 11 days, members from the CSO will perform at the Hal Bogle Theater in the Chandler Center for the Arts. Jack will be conduction The date for that fun event is February 19th at 2pm. Make sure to check the tabs on the website to keep abreast on all information. I plan on attending so there will be a personal write up coming.

Chandler Symphony Orchestra just had our winter concert. The weather was quite chilly so it really felt like a winter concert. Grieg’s “Triumphal March” was a fun way to start the concert. A loud march is a good way to get the blood flowing. Nancy Smith beamed after her masterful and great clarinet playing. She played the solo part for Claude Debussy “Premiere Rhapsodie”. Gregory Schaefer was the other soloist. My mother described the piece as “moving” and Sharon Ash, the trumpet principal, also really enjoyed Ralph Vaughan-Williams “The Lark Ascending”.

Schumann’s 3rd Symphony in E flat major finished up the concert. I’ll admit in rehearsals I struggled. I found it boring in parts. I took the time to listen to recordings and it grew on me. I got into it by the concert and I immensely enjoyed playing it.

Hope to see you all at the chamber concert! (come early – the last one was filled to capacity)

About kimkipling

Hello all, I'm a double bass player with the Chandler Symphony Orchestra - a volunteer based music group.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment